84000 Glossary of Terms

Our trilingual glossary combining entries from all of our publications into one useful resource, giving translations and definitions of thousands of terms, people, places, and texts from the Buddhist canon.

མྱ་ངན་ལས་འདས་པ། | Glossary of Terms

  • མྱ་ངན་ལས་འདས་པ།

  • མྱ་ངན་ལས་འདས།
  • mya ngan las ’das pa
  • mya ngan las ’das
  • nirvāṇa
  • nirvṛti
  • Term
Publications: 30

Literally “extinction,” the state beyond sorrow, it refers to the ultimate attainment of buddhahood, the permanent cessation of all suffering and of the afflicted mental states that lead to suffering. Three types of nirvāṇa are identified: (1) the residual nirvāṇa where the person is still dependent on conditioned psycho-physical aggregates, (2) the non-residual nirvāṇa where the aggregates have also been consumed within emptiness, and (3) the non-abiding nirvāṇa transcending the extremes of phenomenal existence and quiescence.