84000 Glossary of Terms

Our trilingual glossary combining entries from all of our publications into one useful resource, giving translations and definitions of thousands of terms, people, places, and texts from the Buddhist canon.

ལྷག་མེད་མྱང་འདས། | Glossary of Terms

  • ཕུང་པོ་མ་ལུས་པའི་མྱ་ངན་ལས་འདས་པ།

  • ཕུང་པོའི་ལྷག་མ་མེད་པའི་མྱ་ངན་ལས་འདས་པ།
  • ལྷག་མ་མེད་པའི་མྱ་ངན་ལས་འདས་པ།
  • ལྷག་མེད་མྱ་ངན་འདས་པ།
  • ལྷག་མེད་མྱང་འདས།
  • lhag med myang ’das
  • lhag ma med pa’i mya ngan las ’das pa
  • lhag med mya ngan ’das pa
  • phung po ma lus pa’i mya ngan las ’das pa
  • phung po’i lhag ma med pa’i mya ngan las ’das pa
  • nirupadhiśeṣa­nirvāṇa
  • anupadhiśeṣa­nirvāna
  • Term
Publications: 5

At the end of an arhat’s or a buddha’s life, the aggregates of that life cease and no further aggregates arise. At that point there is only the unconditioned element (dhātu) of nirvāṇa in which there is no remainder of the aggregates.

When nirvāṇa is attained with awakening, whether at the level of an arhat or a buddha, all suffering, afflicted mental states (kleśa), and causal processes (karman) that lead to rebirth and suffering have ceased, but due to previously accumulated karma, the aggregates of that life remain and must still exhaust themselves. It is only at the end of life that these cease, and the arhat or the buddha is said to attain, or metaphorically to “enter,” the nirvāṇa without remainder. See also the entries for nirvāṇa and parinirvāṇa.